Latest News

Inter-Parliamentary Task Force on Online Antisemitism to Hear First Expert Testimony

November 9, 2020
B’nai Brith Canada
OTTAWA – On Tuesday, the Inter-Parliamentary Task Force to Combat Online Antisemitism will host its first hearing with leading community organizations from Canada, Australia, and the United States of America.

The testimony will cover the state of online antisemitism, how prominent advocacy groups are responding, and provide recommendations for what actions legislators should take to address the issue.

Michael Mostyn, Chief Executive Officer, and Brian Herman, Director of Government Relations, will be testifying on behalf of B’nai Brith Canada.

Other participants include the American Jewish Committee, the Simon Wiesenthal Center, the Centre for Israel and Jewish Affairs (CIJA), the Canadian Friends of Simon Wiesenthal Center, the Executive Council of Australian Jewry, the Community Security Group, and the Online Hate Prevention Institute.

This virtual briefing will be held on Tuesday, November 10 at 5:00 pm EST via Zoom and live streamed on Facebook here.

Interested members of the Canadian public and media can watch (Click here to RSVP).

Launched in September 2020, the task force is focused on increasing awareness of and developing responses to growing online antisemitism. It seeks to establish consistent policies from the world’s legislative branches with regard to holding the major social media platforms to account on the subject of online hate.

The Task Force is comprised of legislators and parliamentarians from the United States, Canada, Australia, Israel and the United Kingdom.

Members of the Task Force include from Canada: Member of Parliament Anthony Housefather (Liberal), Member of Parliament Marty Morantz (Conservative), Member of Parliament Randall Garrison (NDP); from the United States: Congressman Ted Deutch (Democrat), Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz (Democrat), Congressman Chris Smith (Republican), Congressman Mario Diaz-Balart (Republican); from Australia:  Member of Parliament Josh Burns (Labour), Member of Parliament Dave Sharma (Liberal); from Israel: Member of Knesset Michal Cotler-Wunsh (Blue and White); from the United Kingdom:  Member of Parliament Andrew Percy (Conservative), Member of Parliament Alex Sobel (Labour and Cooperative).